How to import new members into my app

Make user onboarding simpler by automatically generating user accounts

If you have a list of members you’d like to have on your app, it’s possible to pre-create user accounts for them. Each of them then individually receives an email with the links to download your app, along with their login details.

This approach has several advantages:

  1. You know for sure that your member directory is complete and reliable, indexing all of your members.
  2. You can use the app to send emails to all your members. Even if some members haven’t downloaded the app or logged in yet, they do receive emails when you send them private messages, mention them, or broadcast #important messages on your app.
  3. Your members don’t have to sign up, they don’t have to verify their email address, and you don’t have to grant them access into the app.

We explain below the steps to pre-create accounts for your users.

Download our template file

In order to onboard your members, all we need from you is an Excel or CSV file with the details of your members. You can download a template here to structure your data properly: Excel or CSV

Enter compulsory fields

As you can see in the examples provided in the template, each row represents one of your members. There are 2 required fields:

  • full name
  • email address
Full name and email address are comulsory fields

Please note that each user requires a unique email address. If we find several rows with the same email address, only 1 user is created and the others are ignored. Similarly, if a user with the same email address already exists in your app, we skip the row entirely.

Provide admin rights

If you need several of these people to have admin rights, add an extra “admin” column and input a “yes” in the row corresponding to the user needing these rights. Please, note that the number of admins are limited in some of our plans.

Add an admin column to specify who gets admin rights

Add columns for groups

Similarly to the admin rights, we can also automatically add your newly created users in specific existing groups: add 1 column per group and mention a “yes” in the row that corresponds to the user you want to add in that group. In the example below, we’ve added 2 columns for the groups “Staff” and “Board”. As you can see, Barbara will be added to both groups, since there is a “yes” in both columns on her row. However, the user Jonathan will only be added to the group “Board”, since there’s a “no” on his row in the column “Staff”. Please, note that adding “no”s are not necessary, as no input is interpreted as a “no” by default.

Add a column for each group

Optionally enter additional fields

If you want to provide more information about your members so that it appears in their profile on the app, add one column for each additional field. In the example below, we’ve added a column for “City”.

Add a column for each optional field and fill out each user's data

Send us your Excel file by email

Just email us your final Excel or CSV file and we’ll take care of processing your request.

Your members get an email

Your members will receive an email with the links to download your app, as well as their username and password.

Template of email received by users with newly created account

How does the members tab work

The Members tab functions as a directory listing all the users in your app.

Sorting and geolocation

Members are sorted according to their distance from you. The app does not track people: it only takes your geolocation once, whenever you open it, but does not share it. It only uses your position to compute and display distances.

By knowing distances between members and not their exact position, opportunities to easily meet are created without invading on members’ privacy.

As you scroll down, you can see members farther and farther away from you.

Members are sorted based on distances

Information displayed

By default, the app displays 3 pieces of information for each user:

  1. USERNAME
  2. Full Name
  3. Skills or interests

The 3rd line can be customized to display another element extracted from members’ profile, like for instance, the company name or job title.

Anonymization


Depending on your requirements, the app can be configured to anonymize user information: in that case, elements such as a user’s full name or email ID are only available to the app admins, but are not shared with other users. Additionally, mentions of precise distances (e.g. 500m away, 1 mile away, etc) can be hidden too to preserve users’s privacy. Finally, it is also possible to set up the app so that the members tab and other users’ profiles are entirely hidden. Contact us if you have such custom requirements.

Search for a member

At the top of the members tab, the search input allows you to find other users.

This feature is powerful and filters relevant people based on your input by looking up each user’s profile in detail. For instance, if you look for the keyword “digital”, the results will include members who mentioned the word “digital” anywhere in their profile.

The search input

Obviously, the search functionality gets more and more interesting as members fill out their profile. This is why it is important to appropriately set up your app’s sign up and profile pages. This way, users have the opportunity to fill in the information that is relevant to you. Learn more on how to customize your sign up form and profile page.

Invite new members

Last but not least, the button at the bottom-right of the member directory allows you to invite new members to join the app.

Invite contacts by tapping on the button at the bottom-right

How to delete a member?

If you are an admin, there are two ways for you to delete a member: from the app or from your admin dashboard. Warning! There is no going back, so think twice before you delete a member!

Use the app

Here are the steps to follow in order to delete a user directly with the app:

  • Find the member you’re looking for (either use the search box in the member directory or find a message created by that person).
  • Tap on the member’s name or picture; you will then reach that member’s profile page.
  • If you’re an admin, under the profile picture, you can see a “terminate” button. Tap on that button and confirm.
  • The member and all associated posted content are deleted forever.
Delete a member directly from the app

Use the admin dashboard

Users can also be managed from your online admin dashboard:

  • Open your admin dashboard.
  • Navigate to the “Users” tab if you’re not already there.
  • Use the search box at the top right or scroll down to find the person you want to delete.
  • Scroll all the way to the right and delete the user by clicking on the “Terminate” button.
Delete a member from the admin dashboard

How to invite new members?

You can invite other people to join the app from the member directory or from your app settings page.

Members page

  1. Go to the members page and tap on the “add” button at the bottom-right.
  2. Select the app of your choice to invite new members: email, WhatsApp, Messenger, Twitter, etc.
Invite new members

Settings page

  1. Access the settings page by tapping on the “cogs” at the bottom-right of your profile page.
  2. Tap on the “Invite contacts” header and select the app of your choice.
Access your app settings by tapping on the bottom-right button from your profile page

Note: if you’re an admin and your app has a restricted access, the people you invite will be able to immediately enter the app after signing up, without requiring you to grant them access.